LegacyGT.com

Cant hold out anymore.. time for a new clutch!

MaStaMooN

So I have been milking my slipping FX300 for almost 2 months now and it really needs to go. Sadly the more and more research I do, the less easy it is to make a decision on what my next clutch should be.

My main concern after having to spend another grand on a clutch swap only 15k miles after install, is getting some longevity out of the new setup. I dont drag race, no clutch dumps.. My stock clutch lasted 80k miles at this power level and driving style.

Is there anything that come close to stock while providing just a wee bit more performance? I like the feel of the SMFW so I dont want to back to the stock dualmode.

Talking to a few shops, they of course recommend 2 different clutches. One shop pushes Exedy stage 1.. says its as close to OEM quality you can get (longevity) but offers some performance for my stage 2.5 car. Another shop recommends competition clutch stage 2. Says the pedal feel is closer to stock then Exedy and hasnt seen any problems with them crapping the bed early.

I saw a picture of the clutch plate of the CCstage2 and doesnt seem to have the same amount of coverage as other clutches. But im guessing the material is better, wears better...?

Im really close to putting a stock WRX clutch in the car and just crushing my dreams of going stage3 and finally putting some more power down. But I know the minute this clutch is done, my stock turbo will finally shit the bed and ill actually be able to upgrade (vf52 or 16/18g).

If you have had any aftermarket clutch for more than like 50k miles, please speak up. I think I read that Max Capacity had over 80k miles on his SPEC clutchs, that sounds awesome if its true.

Anybody!?! :spin:

Oh It's true. The Spec 2+ was still going strong at 85,000 miles when I replaced it because I replaced the short block.

My Spec 2 is still great at over 40,000 miles.