LegacyGT.com

Stock wheel lugs OK w Rota SDRs?

nomoreS4

Mounted my snows (Rota SDRs w Nokian WRs) this weekend. I'm a Subaru noob; in the Audi world, I know there were concave and cupped wheel bolts that I had to switch to match profiles on aftermarket vs. OE rims. But I'm pretty clueless as to Subaru lug fitment options. Subydude's web page for the Rota SDRs states "You will NEED aftermarket lugs to mount these rims... stock lugs will not fit properly!! ". I did source some cheap lugs locally, but when it came time to install, they were way too long and looked pretty fugly, so I ended up re-using my stock lugs on the SDRs. Granted, the stock lugs don't seem to have a maximal contact area with the rim, but it didn't seem worse than the contact area on the stock rims. Should I be concerned? Does the Subydude warning only apply to some other models?

I just got myself a set of OZ Racing superleggeras this morning and the original lug nuts from the LGT OEM wheels did not fit (OEM lug nuts were too small).

2005 Legacy GT Wagon Ltd 5EAT Garnet Red :cool:

1999 GTI VR6 Black - sold but not forgotten... :(

[quote name='liquidiq']I would really recommend you have aftermarket lugs that seat better, but that's just me. Some nice McGard or Gorilla is what I recommend.[/QUOTE] OK..agreed that McGard or Gorilla would seat better, but is there anything seriously WRONG with the stock lugs on the Rotas? thanks for your recommendation.

[quote name='TeeLoo']I just got myself a set of OZ Racing superleggeras this morning and the original lug nuts from the LGT OEM wheels did not fit (OEM lug nuts were too small).[/QUOTE] Teeloo, in my case, there was lots of bolt sticking out...if I had any worries, it was that the original lug nuts weren't deep enough, and that they tightened down as far as they could go, but not holding the rims snug. No problems evidenced so far, but driving with a bit of (healthy?) paranoia.