LegacyGT.com

2014 Subaru Legacy stalled while driving

Hi folks,

I just bought a used Legacy about a week ago. No issues at all until today when it stalled while I was driving. It's pretty cold here in Minnesota, but I had been driving for abut 20 minutes and the engine was warmed up. It did start back up again and no check engine lights at all. It only has about 59,500 miles on it. Any ideas what the issue might be? I know fuel filter could be a problem, but it seems early for that to be so dirty it's causing stalling issues. I was also reading that a dirty mass airflow sensor can also cause stalls?

Thanks for any advice!

Did it stall while you were idling or while you were actually in motion? I am no mechanic, but I did have this issue with a previous vehicle (not a Subaru) and it happened while idling.

The throttle body seemed to be the issue, the idle seemed to wander after the car was warmed-up and ECU went into closed-loop control. I replaced the whole assembly (throttle body, position sensor, actuator) since it did not seem to be a serviceable part. This fixed my problem.

Did it stall while you were idling or while you were actually in motion? I am no mechanic, but I did have this issue with a previous vehicle (not a Subaru) and it happened while idling.

The throttle body seemed to be the issue, the idle seemed to wander after the car was warmed-up and ECU went into closed-loop control. I replaced the whole assembly (throttle body, position sensor, actuator) since it did not seem to be a serviceable part. This fixed my problem.

No, it was actually while I was braking - probably going between 35-40. The idle has seemed steady otherwise.

Are you using cheap gas? I don't think you should be having fuel filter issues with that low of mileage.