LegacyGT.com

Which BPV to Choose?

Hey Guys!!!

Now that the Racer-X Charge Pipes are done and on the way, I need to choose a BPV.

I have a pretty good idea of the pros and cons, tune wise, of full-recirc vs. the varying degrees of vent to atmosphere, as well as the fact that some people like silent and others prefer the option of varying degrees of sound level from the BPV. This is my first turbo, so I have no direct experience here but I have already learned a lot from this forum.

What I want to hear is your guys opinions on brand, type, and the necessity of having the option of varying degrees of VTA that hybrid valves offer and how that affects spool time and overall driveablilty and power delivery. And tell me what you are running, or planning to run and why.

Thanks in advance guys!!

Edited by GTEASER

• Replies 224
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I like full recirc personally, throws discharged air back to turbo in between shifts allowing for quicker spool. I like the turbosmart personally. Good value and does what it's supposed to. Bryan is offering the Kompact plumback at a reasonable price. That's what I am going with. Edited by wrxwhit

Yes, that is one that is on my list.

Weren't you gonna run a Synapse? Or you were working with them or something.

Synapse is a universal fitment. Had it on my wrx and tuner hated it as it had two vacuum ports and wasn't consistent with tunes. Not sure if they have changed since then.

I don't see that they make it for a 5th gen though.

Nobody makes one for a 5th gen specifically. For OEM replacement we have a universal TurboSmart Kompact available, but for the new charge pipe from RacerX, he designed in a flange to relocate to BPV and use a 4th Gen GT/08+ WRX style flanged valve. So now we have options. :)