LegacyGT.com

High Oil Pressure

Hey everyone got an oil pressure question. My cars been at the shop cause of high oil pressure issues. Just grasping at straws trying to figure out what’s going on or if it’s something obvious just haven’t thought about. New shortblock, heads, turbo, cam gears. OP readings are being taken from front oil galley above pump where the low OP warning sensor sits. It’s around 25 with a mechanical OP test gauge at idle. Tested gauge on another car and read normal so gauge works. From what I read in FSM idle should be 14 psi? Shop would like it around 18....seems low to me but I’m a noob to turbo Subaru’s. I also read should be 10psi for every 1k rpm. No banjo bolt filters, clean passages, oem oil pump. Any ideas? Bearing clearances too tight? Thanks in advance.

Thanks for the reply. That’s kind of what I’ve found...that seems to be the consensus on NASOIC too with the WRX/STI motors. AFAIK it’s running 5W30 Subaru Dino oil....I was going to switch to T6 or AMSOil 5W40. I figured 22 was ok...14 is pretty low and 18 isn’t much better. I’d rather have at least 20 so there’s flow.

I see the 14psi in the FSM, but also notice that's at 600rpm which is below idle RPMs

Mine is higher than 43psi at 5k rpm, but I'm also running a heavier 5w40 oil that may be contributing to it.

Side note: just realized that the oil pressure light switch only triggers at 2.5psi or below... Seems to be a little too late...

As a comparison, mine runs about 20psi at idle warm and 80psi at 3k rpm and above with 5w30.

FSM for the 2009 legacy/outback says 14psi or more at 600rpm, and 43psi or more at 5k rpm. Kinda hard to get a feel for what may be abnormally high with those specs.