LegacyGT.com

rear hatch won't unlock

For some reason the rear hatch on the 05 GT Wagon won't "unlock" from either the key fob or the drivers door.

It will lock from the key fob or the drivers door but will not unlock.

According to a wiring diagram there is only one wire that controls it (?) I'm not good with electrical so my Audi buddy found that only one wire controls it. Is he correct ?

You can move the lever down by hand and it will open from the outside when not locked.

I guess I'll have to price up a lock mechanism.

Any body have any thought's ?

305,600miles 5/2012 ej257 short block, 8/2011 installed VF52 turbo, @20.8psi, 280whp, 300ftlbs. (SOLD).  CHECK your oil, these cars use it.

Engine Build - Click Here

I recently replaced the whole set-up as mine would not open either way...it was a broken mechanism cable!

Sounds different but maybe this is a symptom of what mine did in the end?

J

I recently replaced the whole set-up as mine would not open either way...it was a broken mechanism cable!

Sounds different but maybe this is a symptom of what mine did in the end?

J

Is that cable in the mechanism ? 05 Wagons don't have cable if I remember right. There are 2 connectors to yellowish plastic mechanism.

305,600miles 5/2012 ej257 short block, 8/2011 installed VF52 turbo, @20.8psi, 280whp, 300ftlbs. (SOLD).  CHECK your oil, these cars use it.

i was going to suggest maybe something simply got caught in the mechanism

I'll check when I'm with the car over the weekend. It's at my son's house, where 90% of our tools are. The tranny is out of it and I need to replaces the rear diff, but that's in a different thread.

Pull off the hatch trim and check for interference while pushing the unlock button.

Better that it get stuck locked, than unlocked. But a terminally locked hatch, turns your versatile wagon into the most inconvenient sedan in the world.