LegacyGT.com

OK, to make this somewhat not to long winded, I haven't had my AC working for about 5 years, but never really cared when I had a work van. So I've got it all back together now with a replacement compressor and we had it all running at the shop, WITH A TEST PROBE kicking on the compressor. Everything seems normal, but I'm only getting power at the one pin location at the relay when the A/C button is pressed on. The fan turns on, as it should, but I'm not getting power over to kick the relay over to send power to the compressor.

I may not have had the relay figured out but I believe when it is to be used there are 2 12v signals going to it. I'm not getting that 2nd 12V, but the fan does go on so it tells me the climate control is working properly.

Any ideas? I'm kinda stumped at this moment

08 Spec B, insta: @08_spec_b, 10 SH Forester insta: @shfozzy

I'm an AC newbie, but it's something I'd like to learn more about. I'm wondering how much refrigerant is in the system, and what your high and low side pressures were when you were able to get it running at the shop.

Based off that I'd start looking at the pressure switch. I'm not sure if subarus have a high and low side switch but they will have at least one switch that needs to function for the compressor to kick on when you activate the ac. Check all the hard lines of the ac system and you'll find it. It's also a possibility there isnt enough refrigerant in the system to get the pressure high enough to activate the switch, but if you had it blowing cold that probably isn't the case.

FWIW, the AC relay is $6.00 from the dealership. This is the relay in the under hood fuse box.

They'll most likely have at least one in stock. I replaced them in both my cars a while back.

305,600miles 5/2012 ej257 short block, 8/2011 installed VF52 turbo, @20.8psi, 280whp, 300ftlbs. (SOLD).  CHECK your oil, these cars use it.

Engine Build - Click Here