LegacyGT.com

Coolant in oil

Hello all, I’m new to the Subaru world. I bought a 2006 Legacy GT wagon for my girlfriend 8 months ago. The other day she was driving it and it started driving very sluggishly. She took it to a shop and they said she needed to change the oil. The next day, she was driving it and it started doing it again and started smoking under the hood. She took it to another shop and they said she needed a radiator. I topped off the coolant, changes the oil and change the air filter. It ran great but the turbo was making excessive noise on deceleration. The next day she was driving and it started losing power again and smoking. When I started it, the turbo sounded like it was about to blow apart and it must have pressurized the crankcase because it blew the dipstick up a few inches and blew oil all over the motor. I took the turbo off and has it rebuilt. My question is, is there anyway for coolant to get into the oil besides a blown head gasket. My girlfriend said it never showed it was running hot on the temp gauge and the oil was fine when I changed it and the coolant looked fine also. When I pulled the turbo it was full of oil that looked like chocolate milk so I know it had coolant in it. The guy at the turbo shop said there’s no way that coolant could have leaked from the turbo and mixed with the oil. Head gaskets seem to be the only culprit I can think of but would love to know everyone’s opinion before I dig into changing the gaskets.

If the turbo was bad enough, it being water cooled, yes coolant may have gotten into the oil from a bad turbo.

We need to know more about what was wrong with the turbo ?

Normally when the turbo goes in these cars, it puts metal into the oil system, which in turn take out the bearings.

Also coolant is not good for the bearing also.

You may want to start saving for a new short block. We put a ej257 in these cars.

Oh, welcome to the forum. Here's the service manual for you.