LegacyGT.com

2005 GT Wagon or get newer?

Mr. Electric Wizard

Good morning gents.

I hope to get a conversation going for you to help me to figure out which car I ultimately should start looking for.

I will start off saying that I'm a wagon guy. I've been driving a 1998 Legacy Outback wagon for many years, but my son will be driving soon so this will be his first car.

My mechanic buddy, who works on my car here in the Nashville area, got my heart pumping for a 2005 Legacy GT Wagon 5-speed. A rare one year only combination. I see them come of for sale from time to time and the prices are all over the place. I missed one in Virginia by a day (literally) for 2K. Ultimatlely I'd like the manual turbo wagon, but I can be talked out of it. That's where you come in. :)

So, here's the deal. I have a decent amount of disposible income to throw at the car for upgrades. I have a really good mechanic who specializes in Subaru, and is kind of a hot rodder. I'd like to get the car (when I purchase it) up to around 400 hp / 400 torque. Would even go as far as getting ported heads and maybe some modded internals inside the short block.

I have read here that the 2008 model (no 5-speed wagon) routinely gets higher power numbers than other models. If you were me, would you look for a 2008 (either non-wagon 5-speed, or sedan 5-speed) model over the 2005?

You guys have been modding Legacy GT's around here way more than I have, so I ask you this. Which model is the one to get? Do I pony up for a Spec.B?

I'd appreciate your thougts on this.

Anybody care to debate models here?

I'm willing to drive cross country for the right car, at the right price. :)

Thanks!

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply

2008 vs 2005 differences are irrelevant. 2005-2006 have EJ257 STI longblock, 2007-2009 have EJ255 WRX longblock. The difference is in the heads and compression ratio (8.2 vs 8.4, respectively), and injectors (side feed vs top feed, respectively).