LegacyGT.com

Brake Recommendations...Decisions

Ok, I've tried to search the site and got a few good leads, but would like to get your thoughts before I pull the trigger on this one.

I have 40K on my 2012 2.5i Legacy. It is my commuter car, I don't need anything fancy, but always look to do it right when I do any work on the car. At this point I'm figuring I may give the calibers a paint when I get them off, just cause I like the look and why not as I have never done this before. Then to tackle the breaks.

Looking at full rotor and pad replacement and have 2 options. From the site it looks like HPS pads are the most common along with Centric premium rotors.

Priced HPS/Centric - AutoAnything.com - $365

Other option I found was PowerStopBrakeKit - Full 4 rotors and Pads

http://www.autoaccessoriesgarage.com/Brakes/Power-Stop-Brake-Kit

Open to other options, but not replacing the calibers or anything too crazy. Watching budget, but more focused on doing it right and making sure the pads will last.

Finally, any good write-ups or videos on the change. I've done a brake job before on an 1987 Jetta, but it has been a while and obviously not on a newer auto.

Thanks everyone!

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I would stay away from the PowerStop kit. You'll be much happier spending a few extra dollars on DBA or Centric Rotors and some good street pads like Carbotech Bobcats (1521) or Carbotech Panthers (AX6). The Carbotechs will dust a lot less than Hawk pads.

Try KNSbrakes.com. A lot of the guys here on the forum including myself use them. Good prices and fantastic customer service, and they know Subaru's.