LegacyGT.com

Cat back or tuner??

So i FINALLY got my 08 LGT after over a month of the heads getting rebuilt, belts and tensioners getting replaced and a slew of other issues i noticed when i test drove the car. I love the car and its time to start the modding. Money is tight so it will have to be done in stages, my question to the subject matter experts is where to start, exhaust, AP or open source tune? I found a AP v2 for 375 new but not sure if i should go this route or the taxtrix route. As far as a cat back there are a slew out so finding one isnt an issue. From what i have read, correct me if I am wrong, getting rid of the factory tune to a stage one would be the best first step. What maps come pre loaded on the AP and do you have to pay for different maps through cobb for more? Forgive the noob questions but i am new to the subie world, nto the same as it was 15 years ago and tuning the cars. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

If your good with a lap top the taxtrix cable is the way to go. You can then contact a Tuner, I use http://www.tuningalliance.com Mike has a lot of background on these and a lot of other cars, he knows his stuff.

If you go Cobb AP a stage 1 will get you more performance and a little better mpg.

Mike just emailed me a new map for my AP for my wagon, I'll load it soon.

With open source after you get the map you'll want to data log and end the Tuner the log, he'll make adjustments and send them to you.

305,600miles 5/2012 ej257 short block, 8/2011 installed VF52 turbo, @20.8psi, 280whp, 300ftlbs. (SOLD).  CHECK your oil, these cars use it.

Engine Build - Click Here

I say accessport and exhaust are best things to do first. Fairly easy installs and provide the most gain right away . They are also the basis for anything you do after you install them to get good power results

03 WRB WRX (RIP)

04 JBP STI (sold)

07 DGM Legacy GT (RIP)

12 OBP STI (DD)