LegacyGT.com

Rough idle and stalling constantly 05 LGT

My 05 Legacy GT with the DOHC 5 speed manual has been running pretty rough lately whenever i start it and TRY to drive it as soon as i give it any throttle and let off it will stutter and die but will start right back up like nothing is wrong. I plugged in my OBD2 scanner and it is pulling up a bunch of misfire codes.

Here is a list of what i have replaced so far,

- new 02 sensors

- new timing belt

- new turbo

- new clutch

- new spark plugs

the only thing that i can think of that may be causing this issue is possibly the injectors? ik that the injectors on the 05 generation were known to have some problems.

or possibly the coil packs? the car has only 120,000 miles on it but it sat for a few years in my neighbors yard before i purchased it.

Any advice is greatly appreciated im pretty new to subaru and am not very experienced with them and have no idea what a lot of the common problems are.

I was having a very similar issue with my car too. Rough idle, stalling when returning to idle, ect. It turned out to be the OCV's (Oil Control Valve). Essentially, the engine uses oil pressure to open 2 valves (one on each side of the motor) to change the valve timing to be more aggressive for the top end. If one of these valves gets stuck open, the engine is trying to idle on an aggressive timing, and stutters and stalls. Here are a couple other threads about the OCV's:

http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/p0011-p0021-missfire-ocv-oil-flow-control-valve-141880.html?t=141880&highlight=ocv

http://legacygt.com/forums/showpost.php?p=1943328&postcount=8

It might not be your issue, but it sounds awfully familiar to me.

Hope this helps!

The simple things first. Clean MAF, clean throttle body, check/replace donut gaskets, make sure all hoses are on properly, check PCV, check valve clearance (sucks), check fuel pressure, make sure the timing belt is correctly installed - one or two teeth off can cause problems.