LegacyGT.com

I might be buying a LGT. Tell me what I need to know.

Hi.

I currently own a 3000GT VR-4. Fully built, billet turbos, wiseco pistons, FMIC, 1000cc injectors, ~500hp. The platform is just getting really old to me. Call me old but I wanted heated seats and 4 doors, while retaining All Wheel Drive and a turbocharged engine.

That being said, I do understand this platform is also "old". The cars being up to 11 years old at this point. So, educate me. I love to learn. I love to read. I love to tinker. I am a master toyota mechanic so I'm not afraid to get my hands dirty.

What do I NEED to know before buying a Legacy GT?

Some things I know already:

LGT has the same (or similar?) motor of a WRX STi.

Some years came with a red leather interior (super sexy. my VR4 has a red interior and i love it)

Heated Seats are thing on this model (YESS)

Cars came 5 speed but the spec B came with a 6 speed (that people tell me are bulletproof?)

Annnddd that's basically all I know.

What I'd like to know is:

What to look for when buying these cars?

If they have any common rust spots to look for?

What colors does the car come in? I'm not a fan of that light bluish color.

What kind of power can the stock turbo put out? (and if its as simple as just getting a boost controller / retuning the ECU)

What I would be most worried about during ownership? (for the VR4 it was bearing wear causing the motor to spin bearings. 6G72TT required new bearings every 100k or so)

What is the best year to buy?

Anything else?

I hope to become a part of this community soon.

That thread you linked is nothing more than a circlejerk with no real information.

Why do turbos go bad?

Is getting metal in the oil a normal issue? Is it lack of maintenance or just something that "happens"? What kills the bearings? etc etc.