LegacyGT.com

Wristpin failure? Or dealership ripping me off?

Hi all,

i recently bought an 100% stock 2009 Spec.B with 64,000 miles.

I've got quite a story for you and i would really love any input because im not a mechanic and i dont want to get screwed over...

Having bought the spec.b from a Honda dealership in CT where no one knew of its importance, i brought it to a local and trusted Subaru dealer (Paul Miller Subaru) to have it thoroughly reviewed to look for problems etc....

the Tech there called a few days ago and said that everything looks great except one "small thing." hHe's investigating the Wrist Pin and that it might be a issue.

this confused me because the carfax is ridiculously clean and you can tell the previous owner garaged and cared for the car (5k miles/year, no rust, etc...).

yesterday (11/12/15) i went to the dealership where i had brought the car and they told me that they've identified a loose wrist pin in one of the cylinders. then they proceeded to show and explain to me (again im not a mechanic) about how theyll need to order a new short block ($2000+). Additionally, because the piston head has been rattling around in there for an unknown amount of time, they don't know how much damage it has caused until they pull the motor (labor costs start to add up). so by this time i was sh*tting my pants. this seemingly clean car was turning into a money pit. After revving the car to show me the sound that s connected with a loos wrist pin, i told them id let them know tomorrow(11/13/15) what the next step is.

heres where i started searching the web. it didnt make sense that the block should be damaged because of this wristpin. these numbers didnt add up either (in my mind).

i talked to them again today and the gave me an estimate (that was over the price of a full ej255 motor and trans swap on eBay). i told them id let them know and to not do anything yet.