LegacyGT.com

Grinding noise while accelerating came on suddenly.

Sorry this is a repost from the turbo section, but i'm not getting much response over there and it may not be turbo related.

The car is a 06 LGT with 56k and stock. Drove the car 120 miles 12 hours before today with no issues whatsoever.

I'm not sure what's going on but this morning I ran my 06 lgt through a car wash, and everything seemed normal so I'm not sure this is somehow related. Well as soon as I took off I herd a grinding noise coming from the floorboards, I'm thinking the passenger side. Really sounds like the turbo rubbing but I'm pretty new to turbo's. Couple things I've noticed is it only makes this noise while in gear, and seems to be only under 20% throttle or more, but if I drive around under light throttle it's quiet like normal or free revving up to 4k sounds fine. No cel's are thrown.

I drove the car home and parked it immediately so I wish I could explain it a bit better but I hope this can get me on the right track to fix it.

If this was the turbo grinding wouldn't it also make noise at idle, or under no load but reved up? It sounds like the grinding is rotating and not spinning very fast, but you can hear the grinding slow down as you let off the gas.

At this point I'm not sure I should even start the car to check it out further, or put it on ramps.

Anyone have any suggestions or anything?

• Moderators
If you want, you can build boost while stationary by revving the engine rapidly--would possibly rule out turbo if you have no noise when you do that. I don't believe that "grinding" is typically associated with a turbo going bad...

"Bullet-proof" your OEM TMIC! <<Buy your kit here>>

Not currently in stock :(