LegacyGT.com

mild dual port head polish-mild torque cam grind

Ok...working with a 95 22e that I pulled out last winter and swapped for compression issues in cylinder #2. The swapped motor is from a 98 impreza obs (single exhaust port)I have taken the motor out and popped the heads off to begin disassembly and a couple new exhaust valves for that cylinder. Got it all cleaned up and ready to pull the valves for this part of the repair and I'm thinking I want to do a mild polish on the intake side to get some better flow..I don't want to take out a bunch of material, just some of the rough cast and flashing on the inside. I have never done this before but I am familiar with the type of work as a machinist and fabricator.

I have sent an inquiry to delta cams for a torque grind, what I'm hoping to hear is that a torque grind will compliment a slight polish to the intake keeping a longer power band and better throttle response with added pep to the mid and upper range. But like I said I have no experience with these types of motors or mods too them.

The modifications I currently have are rather small, williaty style hybrid intake, msd coil pack 0 resistance ngk plugs and low resistance 7.5 mm plug wires..the car is currently getting great gas mileage at 26 mpgs consistently. Breathes ok, i have no exhaust mods yet but working on it...imo the car moves through 1st and 2nd with some gusto but then the power drops off (but that is all ej22's from what I hear and have experienced).

I would like to hear any experiences others have had with this type of work IF any..quite sure I won't be the first to do it with this motor..

Feel free to move this thread, seems I didn't read that it was for 2.5's and newer motors...sorry.

• 4 weeks later...

You are fighting a losing battle, I'm afraid to say. The ROI on those mods is going to be miniscule, if even noticeable. The added power/efficiency will not even remotely justify the cost.