LegacyGT.com

Megan Racing coilover alignment

ejoy1220

Went to get my wagon aligned after installing Megan Racing coilovers, and I'm not an expert, but I don't think it was done correctly. Here is the print out I received afterwards

http://img264.imageshack.us/img264/4373/img001fd9.jpg

It seems most of the readings are out of specification. The coilovers are riding just as they came out of the box, all though I do plan on increasing the height.

Can anyone interpret this for me please?

Obscene. Take it back and watch them adjust it properly. You definately don't want THAT positive camber. Shoot for mildly negative camber for daily driver, like about -0.5 deg each side. For more spirited driving, try to get -1 to -1.5 deg.

The tech said that since it was lowered he might have a problem setting the camber. The coilovers were put on out of the box, is it possible to get -.5* camber that way? On the Legacys, doesn't lowering the car give MORE negative camber? How is camber adjusted? I'm almost positive the top plates weren't touched at all, is the camber adjusted through them at all?

http://img511.imageshack.us/img511/738/dsc00440db2.jpg

The strut mount is oriented incorrectly

The slots should be perpendicular to the side of the car for camber adjustment

But with the three bolt setup it would be impossible to get them parallel to the side of the car. That is the passenger side strut I think that's as close to parallel as it would get???

Incorrectly installed. The camber slots on the top hats should be parallel with the firewall of the car or perpendicular with the sides of the car. You can easily run close to 3* of negative camber if you max out the camber plates and the eccentric bolt on the strut body if installed correctly.

Here is what they should look like installed (don't mind the black top hat, the pic is off a prototype)

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y207/Pisadong/MeganRacingLGTcoilovers007.jpg