LegacyGT.com

Driving in snow

Recently it has been snowing in Seattle and I took my Subaru out for a spin. This is my first experience driving a Subaru in snow and I have a couple of questions.

1) Under hard acceleration my car slipped, is it normal? My car is equipped with Potenza 960AS.

2) I am a college student and I do not have a spare set of rims lying around but should I get snow tires?

3) When I tried to brake my car, there seems to be some cracking sounds coming from the brakes. Is it normal?

Any input is appreciated. :)

• Replies 99
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I assume the cracking sound was accompanied by vibrations in the brake pedal? That is the ABS modulating brake pressure to assist braking. Perfectly normal operation. Even with brand new winter tires I get wheel spin on hard acceleration. I have all season tires on my truck, but because I take the subaru to the mountains it gets snow tires. It's all about your comfort level. Snow tires are dramatically better than the best all season tires on ice and snow.

Potenza 960 are not a decent A/S tire and should not really be driven in the snow.

I hope you are not trolling. I have yet to hear a bad review about Potenza 960 in snow. Obviously they aren't great in the snow compared to snow tires but they aren't that bad as well.

I assume the cracking sound was accompanied by vibrations in the brake pedal? That is the ABS modulating brake pressure to assist braking. Perfectly normal operation. Even with brand new winter tires I get wheel spin on hard acceleration. I have all season tires on my truck, but because I take the subaru to the mountains it gets snow tires. It's all about your comfort level. Snow tires are dramatically better than the best all season tires on ice and snow.