LegacyGT.com

Been dreaming of a swap, and the timing is right. Questions inside.

This is going to be on the longer side, but I will try to be concise.

I've owned my 05 lgt for approx 10 years now, and the engine is finally starting to give in to age. I've put more money keeping it running and stock lately and I believe it is finally time to pull the engine for a full rebuild.

That being said, I've been holding onto a pretty well built JDM 3s-gte that makes more power and incredibly easy to work on.

The easy part of the swap in my opinion will be any fab required as I've plenty of experience in that department. However, I don't have nearly enough expertise or knowhow with the ecu.

My goal is to keep the electronics stock and or the current parts I've put in as far as mirrors lights and (my favorite of all) the gauge cluster.

I'm hoping to either A. Fit the stock 5mt to the 3s, or if I need to get it rebuilt to accept the lovely little Toyota motor.

So my questions to all of you are,

1. What should I look to do and expect with ecu swapping? And I would greatly appreciate a point in the direction of company or individuals who can do some wire harness work.

2. Thoughts on transmission usage, should I get one built to fit this bill?

3. New seats are going to be important, however I'd like to keep the heating aspect to them as I do enjoy using this car in winter, anyone know where to get some heated racing seats that fit the legacy?

Any help or positive opinion is greatly appreciate. While I know I'm bastardizing a great car slightly I'd prefer any hateful bashing of abandoning my subaru to stay minimal as I will also be building that motor in time to put into something I feel it belongs.

Thanks in advance guys.

Fair enough, I'll try to get some photos of the 3s, however it hasn't been pulled from the car it's currently stored in.

The subaru 2.5 is completely stock aside from the spt intake engine wise.