LegacyGT.com

Best Battery for Cold Winters

Ok so let me start by saying... yes it's the middle of summer.... and why are you asking this question now?

Ive been doing some research conserning a new battery because last year during the winter my battery gave me the impression it hates life and the engine is asking for more cranking amps. This question goes out to all the Northern LGTers.

What battery have you used in your car and how did it perform on cold days?

Let me just note that im not looking at running my radio for 1 million hours on battery only. Just want a good performing, high cranking battery.

Thanks

• Replies 74
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I have some good experiences from Tudor Batteries - which now are the same as Exide batteries.

From my experience it's usually a waste of money to go for really expensive batteries as the Optima batteries, but that you also should avoid the cheapest alternatives.

And you will often get a better result by selecting the right oil (e.g. 0W40 or so) as well as making sure that the car is well serviced before the winter. Changing spark plugs before the winter may be a good idea, even if it isn't specified in the service interval - and make sure that they have the correct gap before installing. May make a difference when the temperature drops below -30 (C or F, give or take :p ) Running a few tanks with injector cleaner may also be a good idea.

In any case I did have an old Volvo -64 with a B18 engine which started at temperatures below -30 without any engine heater. So maybe I did something right!

453747.png

Last Sept I went to Walmart and bought a battery there. A few weeks later I saw a review on batteries, turns out I bought one of the better ones. Who would have thought.

Maxx-35N $75.00

I go to VT every winter weekend, well except for 4 weeks last winter I was home with a broken collar bone, (4 places). But it worked fine during the end of Jan on.