LegacyGT.com

Cobb AP vs Open Source Pros and cons

daluciano83

I'm trying to decide between using Cobb or open source for tuning and need some pros and cons as I'm new to tuning Subarus. I've tuned Honda's on Hondata and Crome, but never have done anything with ignition timing.

My car is an 08 LGT auto. I don't have any mods at the moment and will maybe only do basic breather mods.

If I'm not going to mess with ignition timing is open source even worth doing or would I be better off going with Cobb since they have the "stage" tunes.

I need help justifying the price difference of $675 for Cobb and $180 for tractrix.

Thanks

Or go OS with one of the e-tuners on the forum. That's what I did. I like the option to know all the details and take it on if needed. Cobb is good if you just want plug & play. If you like to tinker more, OS might be for you.

Tinkerer here that went the Cobb route. While I know enough about ECU's and tuning to likely get myself into trouble, I didn't care to squeeze every single little bit out of the little turbo H with just an axle back exhaust. If I were going stage 2 or 3 soon enough.....yes, I would be into OS and working with a reputable tuner to maximize every aspect of the tune. I flashed the 93 octane stage 1 tune and put the AP back in my toolbox. This car is my driver and I am happy, getting around 20 mpg's treating the go pedal nicely with the 5EAT.

FWIW.....find a lightly used Cobb AP3 and save some ching. My $.02

Sent from my moto z3 using Tapatalk

I'm not overly concerned with tinkering on this car. I kind of just want set it and go. I have my Honda and Hondata to tinker with. It's a $200 engine if it blows and not my daily.

Also, if I do decide I want to tinker I can do the Cobb class for $150 and then be able to edit with their software correct?

Also I can get an AP right for around $300.