LegacyGT.com

How to address lean condition in open loop

xt2005bonbon

Busy dad and tuning noob here :spin:....

I noticed lately that in fairly low/mid load (0.70-.85 g/rev) with a 3900-4000 rpm range, my AFR is 15.2-15.7 consistently. Good thing (I think) is I am still in low boost (0-1 psi). But it obviously results in some knock and FKC.

I checked my 'Primary Open Loop Fueling' table in my current tune and see that the variable shown is an 'estimated AFR' (see attached). As you can see in the aforementioned load/rpm ranges, the estimated AFR is on the rich side. Actual does not achieve that.

attachment.php?attachmentid=276585&d=1560434412

Simple question: which table do you modify in order to achieve a descent actual AFR while in Open Loop? Do you modify these 'estimated AFR' values or some other MAF related variables? And let's assume I do not have any vacuum leak.

prim_OL_fueling_06.png.88d6e02214dc8e162abf3ddfd3833f40.png

If it's running closed-loop, what is your AF learning and AF correction values in those conditions?

If it's running open-loop there, that means somewhere your fueling calibrations are off (MAF calibration, injector scaling, etc.) or your sensors are dirty/on their way out (MAF or front O2 sensor).

I should have been clear. All comments in my OP assumes open loop scenario. And I also have just cleaned the MAF sensor.

My long term fuel trims A/B swing a bit between -4/+4%. So not too bad. However, my LTFT C/D are closer to 5% now. I do admit in the past that these were closer to 0%.

I checked for vacuum leaks and could not find any.

Car has now 164K. I believe MAF and 02 sensors are original.

I have been having issues with the MAF wiring harness a bit in the past. So that sucker is ziptied and I cleaned once again the MAF plug.

Mods to car:

SF cobb air intake with their air box

stock turbo with Grimspeed EBCS and AVO wastegate actuator

AVO intercooler

catless up and hiflow catted Invidia DP

3" mid pipe with stromung mufflers.