LegacyGT.com

Help to Set Timing for a 2.5L DOHC

Hello,

I am a bit new to Subaru and I had a timing belt idler pulley go out on my 2005 Legacy GT and I decided to take on the job of replacing the timing belt. The engine that I have is the EJ25 with a Turbo.

When the idler went out, there was a horrific sound coming from the engine compartment, but the engine was still running fine and it had not lost timing, so I quickly returned to my home and turned off the engine. During the process of removing the crankshaft pulley, my timing belt had slipped some teeth. I then proceeded to hand-crank the engine in an attempt to diagnose how bad the timing was off. In my further infinite wisdom, I decided to remove the belt to attempt to re-align things, only to find that I had made things worse. I removed the belt when the crankshaft pulley was at its timing mark.

During the process of accidentally un-timing my engine, I never attempted to start the car, I had only turned things by hand, so I think everything should be fine internally. However, I am a bit nervous since I had encountered some resistance when hand cranking the engine when the timing belt was still installed, but off on timing. I had assumed this to be compression resistance, which leads me to my first question :

Can the valves still bend when cranking the engine by hand? I wasn't using a breaker bar, just a regular ratchet, so my lever arm wasn't too big. I also didn't apply excessive force.

I have searched the internet high and low for a method to properly set timing in these engines, but I have not found too many answers. I was hoping that posting to this forum could help. I purchased a Haynes manual, but that only shows how to deal with the timing belt with an already timed engine. There is nothing about setting timing from an unknown state. I understand the timing markings, but I just want to know the process to get them all safely aligned.