LegacyGT.com

Am I getting hosed by dealer's service dept (warped brake rotors)?

I'm a low-mileage driver. I've *just* put ~22,500 miles on my 2016 Legacy at the 30 month mark (bought in early Feb 2016). But I want to keep to the service schedule as best I can, so I brought the car in for its 'overdue' 24m/24k service, and plan on bringing it in for the 30m/30k service in the next two months or so (when the car should probably be at ~24-25k).

My question is, that in the course of the inspection process, they found my front rotors were minorly warped - evidently no more than 1mm, but that that warping was causing quite a lot of heat to be generated. I asked the service rep if that presented a danger to the car, and he said that it didn't, but that prudence demanded they be *replaced*, and not to worry, that such a repair would be covered under warranty. Again, key word there, *replaced*.

So I blocked out a period of time where I could leave the car at the dealership, and just picked it up today.

Let this be a lesson to always *read* your invoice.

1. The brake rotors were not replaced, they were *resurfaced*.

2. They did not put new pads on the rotors. Pads aren't that expensive, and while I'm not a mechanic, I know enough about cars that generally when you're doing a warranty replacement, you usually just put new pads on as a matter of common courtesy and logic. The reason I know the pads weren't replaced was that the service rep was quite 'helpful' in telling me that my pads "only have ~10-15k left on them."

3. My Legacy is my first AWD car, so it would stand to reason that when you replace the brake rotors, you should replace *all* of them, because otherwise you're going to have uneven wear between them, which is a bad thing which would only ensure my car would spend *more* time in the service center. Only the *front* rotors were serviced.

Am I being illogical here?