LegacyGT.com

Cracking noise in firewall during hard shifts

Hello all, havin a small issue but havent found much insight on it yet. The car is a 08 spec b modded with just a turbo back exhuast and a pro tune by cryotuning. The downpipe is a rev9 downpipe I got off a friend and there seems to be no fitment issues whatsoever, quite a good gap between the firewall.

Now I do drive the car pretty aggressively, I often take it on high speed canyon runs and do occasionally launch it for fun. I know its harsh on pretty much everything doing that but I'm actually a subaru mechanic and am not afraid to do some work if it goes and also take absolute meticulous care of the car in order to drive it hard.

As of lately I've noticed a few times that on a launch or during a flat foot shift the car is making this really weird cracking noise in the firewall it sounds like. Cant really feel it, doesnt effect driveability at all, car still continues to perform very nicely, but its definitely making this weird but pretty loud pop/crack noise only during a shift, or when power is engaged via the clutch pretty aggressively.

My first thoughts could be engine mounts worn causing the engine to torque a bunch, that or the rear tranny mount being torn. Maybe the pitch stop mount that's mounted on top of the tranny and to the firewall is absolutely toast. I'm not too sure as I havent had a chance to look at it but I was curious if anybody else has had this issue? I thought I remember reading something about the firewall welds being garbage? Not sure if it affected these cars? I've also seen master cylinder braces for sale everywhere, does that mean these have an issue flexing around a bunch?