LegacyGT.com

Turbo is on the way out, looking for a new one

NOOB ALERT (Explain things to me because I am new to learning about turbos please)

My turbo started to leak oil into the intercooler which then started getting sprayed into the block from the wastegate causing -11.75 fine knock learn, -12.00 feedback knock. I'm looking to buy a new turbo, one a little bigger than stock but really trying to stay under $900. It would be extra helpful if the turbo is a straight bolt on. I'm trying to stay on the stock injectors, fuel pump etc...

So far my tuner suggested that I get a blouch GT 380XT. I don't believe that it is a ball bearing turbo and I was looking for a ball bearing turbo. My tuner said he could get it for $1300, still, way above budget.

I was also looking/hearing some good things about a BNR 16g turbo. I can't really find any information that I can decipher on whether it is ball bearing or a straight bolt on. Also, I don't even know where or how to buy one.

I've looked around on all the turbo threads but I end up getting confused with all the abbreviations and a la decent amount of information goes over my head. Thanks for all the input guys, and thanks for helping me out.

Link for blouch: http://www.bptstore.com/Subaru-Legacy-GT-380XT-Turbocharger_p_113.html

First let me ask, are you still on the VF40 turbo? And 2nd, what are your plans for the 2nd turbo?

Yes, I am on the VF40 turbo and my plans are to get rid of it/sell it to someone who wants one to rebuild.