LegacyGT.com

2010 2.5GT Remote Start

i have found part# H001SAJ000 online as a Subaru genuine part remote start - dealer installed. I'm curious if this is actually an available install for the 2.5GT Limited? While I found it on Subaru's site, it doesn't actually say if it's available for a manual transmission...before I call a dealership, I'm wondering if anyone knows...(I'm new to Subaru and love my new-to-me 2.5GT!)

it only comes with a manual transmission and this is a dealer installed USDM option - so the remote start would need to somehow bypass the clutch switch and start the vehicle (I'm guessing) when it's parked in neutral. Remote starts are usually only available for automatics I know, but because the GT tells you what gear you're in, I am wondering if it available because the vehicle knows that it's in gear. With that feature, and that it would be integrated into the vehicle's stock system, I'm curious if it's actually possible to install or if anyone has it installed?

A number of years ago, a board member made and sold, a small wiring harness that would allow the 5th gen MT-equipped Legacies to be started without depressing the clutch. I am a bit too busy to search for that thread at the moment, but I purchased the device, and it has worked flawlessly for a lot of years.

Best.

Byll

Subaru will not install remote start on cars with standard transmission. There are aftermarket kits out there to do it, and they usually require some sort of sequence to be completed before you leave the car to enable it to remote start one time. I had an aftermarket alarm on the '08 spec.B I had that had the remote start feature, and I never used it because the arming sequence was a pain in the rear to do every time, and I ended up getting rid of the alarm system because whoever installed it didn't know what they were doing.