LegacyGT.com

05 legacy gt audio help...

i bought a 05 legacy gt... i was wondering what people have done in terms of upgrading thier headunit.... im a noob.... im a first time subaru owner... ive seen threads of the jdm hvac double din conversion... but i just recently bought this car and funds arent as vast as i would like them to be... any insight and info is greatly appreciated... i would love to see some pics of what other members have done... and if anyone in nyc wants to do my system pm me with a quote... thanks....

Check out the Audio sub-forum. Your options are basically null as far as upgrading the HU, it is integrated with the HVAC controls. So your only option is the JDM unit.

Otherwise you can use add on stuff to upgrade the outputs and run accessories, or get a din cubby for above your stereo and go from there....

Unfortunately, the HU on these cars is a major fail if you have any interest id upgrading :mad:

For me, I got a stock sub and XM unit and I'm content. But I'm no audiophile

what you say is only HALF true.

There is a kit from crutchfield to put a single din in the location of the HU and keep your stock HVAC controls.

it requires some cutting and re-wire, but for the cheaper of the options, its right up there on a DIY weekend gig.

My buddy zenbaru here in Hampton Roads did it before he left for CT.

Ill see if I can nab a picture or two, or have him get in here to discuss and elabortae on what he did

-Travis

Rob (rao) you're a fine gentleman, thanks I guess.

what you say is only HALF true.

There is a kit from crutchfield to put a single din in the location of the HU and keep your stock HVAC controls.

it requires some cutting and re-wire, but for the cheaper of the options, its right up there on a DIY weekend gig.

My buddy zenbaru here in Hampton Roads did it before he left for CT.

Ill see if I can nab a picture or two, or have him get in here to discuss and elabortae on what he did