LegacyGT.com

Ready to hit the big 100000k.

Hi everyone,

Long time lurker, first time poster.

Ok here it goes, I drive a 2007 legacy 2.5i non turbo. My mileage is at 98500. I have kept up on oil changes, but I skipped the 90000 maintenance due to low funds from replacing the head gaskets. Now I have some funds, but I want to combine the 90000 and the 105000 mile maintenance. My local dealer quoted me at around $800 for the two. Now that doesn't include the timing belt and components, which was quoted at another $1100.

My question is: which should I do myself? For I do not have money for both. I know how to turn a wrench, but I am certainly no mechanic. Changing fluids seems prerty straight forward. I think I could handle the timing, considering I did one in a Honda (I know this is a different beast). I'm just not sure which job would be a better project me:confused:

Thank you, and any input is helpful.

I'm not a mechanic as well, but Knowledge is more powerful than any mechanics out there, especially with the help of this forum everything will be fine. I see that doing the timing belt is more easier than Honda which you have to check it out. I'm going on this route soon as I'm just waiting to warm-up outside to start tearing out the parts. Good Luck!

Why do you need to replace the Head Gasket?

Timing belt is fun, not too hard. You'll need a cam lock tool. I highly recommend the following, some others will say don't bother.

- 1/2" torque wrench

- 3/8" torque wrench

- Company 23 crank pulley wrench

Get the Aisin kit, NOT the Gates. Don't replace the water pump, they never fail.

Why do you need to replace the Head Gasket?

I bought the car out of state, two days later the cel came on, and when I went to get it inspected in Maryland, they told me that the cel was from the header, and the heads were leaking onto components and it wouldn't pass.