LegacyGT.com

'05 OB XT turbo oil leak...classic

Hey y'all. New here. Looking for an information third opinion on my subie.

I just had it at the dealer for new tires and when they had it lifted up, they told me that a head gasket was leaking on the passenger side. I saw for myself -- the bottom was pretty well covered in oil and a touch of coolant. It would be a $2000 repair.

I'm a poor graduate student, so that sounds like a real no-go for me.

My SO called another dealership near him to verify and ask questions, and the gal there told him that the head gaskets on turbo's don't leak externally and thinks its something else. Has anyone else heard of this? I can't verify it anywhere. Any guesses what my leak is?

[[backstory: I bought the car used this summer and after a week the turbo went out. (Also a fun way to find out the hazard lights weren't hooked up either). The dealership did me a solid and offered to replace it for free. However, the labor they did was really crappy and they left a loose nut in the system, so the whole thing seized going up a mountain pass. They insisted it was fine to drive, so we limped all the way to OKC on a consistently overheating car in the summertime before pulling into a shop. The turbo got fully replaced a second time for free because it was under warranty and the work was bad. (Happy to show fun pics of the pulverized metallic dust and the seized nut if anyone is interested). ]]

The head gasket is not as common of an issue with turbo vs the NA. It could be the valve cover gasket which is a much cheaper fix and could be done yourself. Both gaskets would just be $40. Pressure wash the engine bay and use some degreaser to pinpoint where the leak is coming from exactly. However you said there is coolant which is a big clue of a head gasket.