LegacyGT.com

Fifth gen engine rebuild

So the legacy has developed a pretty bad misfire at idle after overheating. I’ve checked the basics like plugs and coils with no luck. I’ve decided I’ll rebuild the engine in the new year. I have never built an engine before but am sure that it’s a project I can handle. The ej has enough of a following that there are videos out there for the assembly process. Where I may run into some issues are the differences that come between the STi and the legacy. I’ve heard there are different compression ratios, pistons, cams, oil pumps, etc. I’m hoping to get the car to a reliable 350 whp daily. I’m not sure if that can be achieved with the stock turbo, and just different internals. I intend on purchasing an invidia n1 and pairing it with the catlesss invidia downpipe I have in the closet. I have a spare vf54 I intend on porting before installing. I’d like to go with the STi exhaust cams, and oil pump. What I’m really unsure of is the matter of what pistons to go with, where to source proper valve buckets and what a machine shop would take care of with regard to the valve stems and buckets. Any and all threads you could point me towards, and personal experience is much appreciated. I know this will be a costly project, but it is definitely something I’ve always wanted to do.

Oem oil pump is an upgrade over every other ej255 and I believe is the STI pump. So get the one for our car. Buckets are available from the dealer or any subaru shop, I personally would get the camshafts and install them before ordering buckets you may not need new ones. What I have read is, once installed you can move buckets around to ensure the clearance is within spec on each valve in most cases. There isn't a variety set of buckets, you would need to order the correct thickness, and the only way to know that is to test fit.