LegacyGT.com

Thicker door seals for noise reduction? Anyone?

Hi all. I'm a noob here obviously. lol. I'm enjoying my new (to me) 2008 leggy but it was modified by the previous owner and is very noisy inside. It goes like a bat out of hell but on long road trips the noise is intolerable. I've been looking at some options for reducing cabin noise and strangely I can't find anything about it here. Unless I'm missing something and I have searched.

Anyway, besides the obvious hood, doors, floor, trunk, and head I'm seeing that replacing the door seal with a newer/thicker one is supposed to be a very effective first step.

I'm wondering 1) if anyone has done this, 2) what are the specs of the OEM seal so I can get a proper replacement, 3) has anyone else done any noise reduction on their car? What brands are suggested? How effective?

Thank you all in advance and I'm happy to have found this forum.

I don't know about door seals, but my understanding is that much of the noise is transmitted through vibration in the sheet metal acting much like a drunk drum. For example, consider the area where the spare tire is located. It is also located right by the mufflers - this area will have a lot of resonant sound.

A website some people on this forum have used in the past is SoundDeadenerShowdown, but the guy retired last year and his website is about to expire in the next couple days, I believe. I would hop on there an glean what information you can while it's still there. You just reminded me to download their website.

Edit: Spelling

Edited by Enlight

muFreight.co
A JDM Container Sharing Service from Japan 🇯🇵 to NYC 🗽
 🌐 Website📷 Instagram✉️ Email

Bessie II's Thread

I don't know about door seals, but my understanding is that much of the noise is transmitted through vibration in the sheet metal acting much like a drunk. For example, consider the area where the spare tire is located. It is also located right by the mufflers - this area will have a lot of resonant sound.