LegacyGT.com

Camber bolts

This week I am tackling the suspension swap to get a little lower and a little stiffer. I've got KYB adjustable struts (don't remember which ones offhand) and Tanabe springs. I got the whole set-up new with spacers, strut mounts, and camber bolts for $650 on CL.

My question is in regards to the camber bolts; I've never used them before. I understand they are generally used to correct alignment but could get me a little more adjustment to hit my 2.5 degree goal without using a camber plate. The instructions in the package said not to use them on struts with a slotted camber adjustment hole.

Does anyone have any experience with these? Should I install them or leave them on the shelf?

Camber bolts are a necessity when you have stock suspension, since you wouldn't have a camber plate to adjust that setting.

If the struts you bought have a elongated opening for the camber bolt, do not use it. If the holes are circular on the strut opening, use them.

Here's a visual representation of what it means:

http://www.gmforum.com/attachments/buick-172/10341d1369667894-too-much-positive-camber-after-strut-replacement-parkavenuequickstruthasslotratherthanhole.jpg

Yeah, that was exactly what I was looking at, unfortunately the slot will not get me quite where I was hoping for. Would using them on the non-slotted hole have any benefit or should I just leave them alone? Any use for the rear?

Your struts will either have a slot or no slot. Most I've seen for Subaru is a non-slotted setup. In that case, your knuckle has the elongated hole to accommodate the camber bolt, and it would be the top hole. I don't think they will not work for the rear because I believe your camber is determined by the lateral links.

I'm assuming that when you say camber bolts, you mean two aftermarket ones for the back, as opposed to the OEM ones for the front struts.