LegacyGT.com

STi swap write up....best ever?

Here it is, quite possibly the best write up for an sti swap.

I would like to first thank everyone who has assisted me with information to complete this build and also parts that I have come across on the forum!

I am a broke college student who is driving a nice car with 112000 miles on a stage 2 motor and turbo. The turbo has never been replaced and I got pretty paranoid about it going boom. So in October of 2011 my collection started. I knew that I wanted to expand for more power so I went with an sti style turbo. I also came across a decent perrin fmic. I was dead set on having my set up with a fmic but I was thinking about the future and about having to remove the bumper beam and with my luck, I would get into an accent and insurance would deny my claim.

After hours of derping on the internetz, I started pricing things out and looking for sti parts for the build.

So here it is

Parts list and price(maybe rounded & used)

FP HTA68 turbo/gaskets -$750

FP Oil feedline -$80

Walbro 255 fuel pump (used 2000 miles) -$50

Jecs 840cc side feed injectors (more on this later) -$320

STi manifold -$100

Gaskets for sti bpv, tgv to intake manifold, throttle body -$20 ~ish

Ebay STi style tmic plus TB to tmic coupler -$180 ~ish

Grimmspeed EBCS (used 2 hours) -$80

High pressure rubber fuel line under intake manifold OEM $30 for 2 hoses

STi tmic mounting brackets $free

STi tmic PCV pipe $free

STi header coolant reservoir tank $free

STi bpv $free

Perrin turbo inlet $free

Various size hoses (more info later) $50 ~ish

High temp copper gasket sealer $10 ish

Various size worm drive clamps (lots!!!) $20

Spark plugs $40

B12 Carb cleaner -$6 ish

The writeup