LegacyGT.com

P0011, P0021 - banjo filter removed, runs great

hey everyone. I'm new to the Subaru world, but purchased a 2005 Outback XT about 2 months ago. love it. Everything was great until I got that dreaded p0011 and p0022 code with the check engine light about 2 weeks ago. I'm no mechanic, but i can turn a wrench. I searched the forums, and removed the banjo bolt filter that leads into the turbo. I did a flush and oil change at the same time, and the code disappeared immediately. Problem solved, i thought. Code came back yesterday. stopped at oreilly and reset the trouble codes, thinking it might have just been a stored code from before, but it came back again a few miles later.

no hesitation, misfires, or other engine codes. oil level shows full after sitting overnight. turbo does NOT sound noisy or weird. when i replaced the oil, i used mobil 1 full synthetic with a mobil 1 filter (that thing is tiny). I checked this morning wit the intenion of removing the banjo bolt from the line right behind the oil fill cap, but there was no filter there. no oil leaks or other problems that I can see or hear or feel.

Car has 135k, was meticulously maintained by the previous owner for the last 100k with records to prove it. It still drives great.

I have seen threads related to the OCV, but those always seem to have misfires associated with problems with those (from what I read anyway).

Is there something I am missing. Any thoughts on where to look next.

Thanks in advance,

Justin

A. Most people here advise against Mobil1, and prefer rotella t6.

B. If I'm remembering correctly, some have solved your codes by new/cleaned intake cam gears.

I think the code related more to cam timing position than anything else.

If you are new, you might want to find the "vacation pix".

http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/vacation-pix-171435.html

There are some diagnostic trees in there that will show you how to troubleshoot the codes.