LegacyGT.com

Never Ending P0400 & P0026

Hello and thanks for taking the time to read this. I have a 2007 Legacy 2.5 SE that I am just about ready to get rid of! It was a Great car until about 110,000 mile mark, but has been a pain since.

I've been battling a P0400 CEL for about six months now and a P0026 for about a month. I don't know why, but the codes always come in this pair the last month. I've run out of ideas and I've fixed every part that I know of.

For the P0400, I've replaced:

-EGR valve

-EGR solenoid

-Cleaned the TB/ EGR passages/EGR tube with seafoam deep creep four times.

-Used a speedometer cable to clean the passages each time.

-Checked all vacuum tubes for cracks or blockages (none found)

-Checked PCV valve (works)

-Replaced missing block->frame grounds (probably not related :lol:)

The EGR debacle started when I noticed a lack of power and my fuel mileage in the 15's. The car runs and idles great, fuel mileage is back to normal.

In regards to the P0026, ironically enough I was getting a P0028 and decided to replace the vvt solenoids and oil pressure sensors on both sides. The p0028 went away, but now I'm getting the P0026.

For the P0026 I've done the following:

-Replaced the VVT solenoids and oil pressure switches

-Checked the resistance of both parts on both sides

-Passenger & driver side oil switches were both ~0.6ohm

-Passenger side vvt solenoid ~ 3.8ohm

-Driver side vvt solenoid ~8.0ohm

-Did no use any sealant or tape on the oil pressure sensor threads

-Did not notice any frayed wires.

I have to commute 80+ miles on a regular basis and would like my cruise control to work again! If i clear the codes, it usually takes about 50 miles or so before the codes return, always together. I haven't gotten any other codes thus far. I have no idea what to do next and don't want to dump the car, but I cannot spend every weekend trying to fix the problem to no avail. HELP!!!:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused: