LegacyGT.com

N/a legacy (2.5i) -> 09 legacy 2.0L GT (ej205)

Hello, I’m kinda new to all this so I opened this thread. I made the horrible financial decision and do an engine swap into my daily natural aspirated 5 speed manual. I’ve decided on doing an ej205 (from an 02 wrx) with a vf48 turbo.

Where I went wrong, I should’ve just bought a ej20x or y and went from there but I was told I could just sell the parts and make it back. That was the first mistake, this swap isn’t as straight forward as I thought it.

I little backstory of the car, it came somewhere from New York, the guy drove it for a year, rod knocked, swapped the short block, then couldn’t afford it and was left in a parking lot for 2 years. Then it was offered to me for a high-ish price and I thought it was a good price because I was told that I could part it out.

Now after the month and half the guy that was helping me found a speciality shop for these types of swap. He quoted me 3 weeks just about we’re about half way through, the engines in most of the mechanical parts are in, we’re waiting on an oil catch can, and sub frame.

If you’re planning on doing this swap, I’m not sure if I would or wouldn’t recommend it. A lot of people don’t, one thing of advice find someone that knows what they’re doing before you buy anything. Do not just throw parts at it. The shop I took it too he builds 800+ Hondas but he was also a Subaru tech for X amount of years with a crap ton of experience, he does build Subarus not as much as Honda.

Electrical aspect: