LegacyGT.com

Hesitation and throttle does not respond in gear

Hi all,

I am new here and this is my first post and I appreciate any help.

I have a 2001 Legacy, 2.5 , 4 cyl, auto with 300k. It is my daily driver.

Lately car hesitates a bit while in drive and it is getting a lot worst now. It seams in very cold it was doing fine (-20 F) or maybe then the problem was not that bad.

It idle fine. starts fine. but when I put in drive, throttle respond is not consistent and it comes and goes and car jerks on and off.

I have no warning light. in very cold winter I smell gas a lot, checked under the hood and did not see any leak.

I did the following so far:

Changed ignition coil with a used one

replaced air filter

today I cleaned the MAP sensor

None of the above helped.

Any Idea what I should do next?

I have a simple code reader, but not a real time scanner. I can buy one for I think 300$, but would not know what to do with the data. I am not a mechanic.

I hate to just replace parts without knowing what is the problem, but at the moment that might be my best option.

So, I might try the spark plug replacement today and see what happens.

Thank you

I just finished changing the plugs. Problem still exists.

Again, the car idle fine. soon as I put it in Drive I press the throttle and sometimes nothing happens and all of a sudden the car revs up and jumps. Is there a relationship between gear in drive and throttle? any sensor that receives command after car is in drive?

I can tell the problem is not necessary the load, since this happens in downhill as well, although we dont have too many hills here in MN!!