LegacyGT.com

Help me choose which car

geremy

Hi, First, this will be a long post... I just moved from Florida to Massachussets (sp?) and I need a new car that is winter capable. I have zero experience driving in snow or ice (but lots of experience in the wet). I'd like a 'near-luxury' car that is fun to drive. My last 3 cars have been manual (mitsubishi eclipse, vw GTI VR6, and WRX) but I think now, living in Boston with tons of traffic and crazy people and parallel parking and such, my wife and I would prefer an auto transmission. Also, I am assuming it will be easier to learn to drive in the winter with an auto. My current top selections for my next car are the Legacy GT limited sedan, VW Passat GLS 4motion, Acura TSX (w/ nav) and Volvo S40 T5 (haven't decided between AWD or not). My thoughts on each car: Legacy GT limited sedan: very nice interior, but I want the beige interior and the wood trim looks pretty cheap. I am wondering if someone will release a kit to replace the crappy wood with nice wood trim (as is available in other countries, maybe we can just order a genuine subaru replacement?). Also, my last car was a WRX, and while it was a solid fun to drive car, it wasn't without it's problems. I had to have most of gears and all the synchros replaced at 30K and by 40K there was serious belt squeekage that had to be adjusted multiple times. In addition there were many rattles (especially from the glovebox). I only had the car for 3 years or so but it seemed to age prematurely, and I maintained it very well (and it was garaged) and my wife (who drove most of the time) is a very gentle driver. So while reliability was not suspect (as everything was covered under warranty) but build quality is. A plus for the car is that it has everything I want except navi, and it is brand new so the body style won't change very soon. I told you this would be long. Passat GLS 4motion: Same price as the legacy, benchmark interior (though I think the legacy interior flows mor