LegacyGT.com

3.6R Aluminum Radiator Upgrade (Finally) - 40mm, Dual-Core, Plug & Play

Long post incoming. Recently finished up a project I’ve been working on for a couple of months, and figured it was time to compile it into a thread: a 3.6R 40mm Aluminum Dual Core Radiator upgrade that is fully plug and play (or at least as plug and play as possible). The radiator used is actually originally made for BL/BP EZ30. The goal behind this project was to find an aluminum radiator upgrade setup for 3.6R that could be accomplished with little to no fabrication other that what can be done with simple hand tools, and most if not all parts readily market available.

Before we get started, you might be asking "What's such a big deal about a 3.6R radiator?". Well, the big deal is that currently, or prior to this project at least, there were no radiator options available for 3.6R that were aluminum, a capacity upgrade, or both. Why? Because of the second upper coolant port. If the 3.6R used a single upper port, we'd have dozens of options available, and all stuff that fits 08+ STI's (the same stuff that works for GT) would also fit 3.6R. But cutting into and welding another upper port onto an already expensive aluminum radiator is something that's outside of the majority of owners capabilities.

dWBWaOP.jpg

W1N9H1E.jpg

The company that makes the radiator is “Golpher”. They make three radiator versions that are relevant to us: BL/BP EZ30 40mm, BL/BP EZ30 26mm, and BE/BH EZ30 40mm. The one that I used for this project is the BL/BP 40mm version.

Golpher Webstore: https://www.aliexpress.com/store/1101235148

BL/BP EZ30 40mm: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3256803630438734.html

BL/BP EZ30 26mm: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3256801706982365.html

BE/BH EZ30 40mm: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3256801706939513.html