LegacyGT.com

When will the 2006 GT be available?

I have been researching the GT for about 8 months now...mostly by lurking on this site. I know its going to be my next car but I am waiting until I get back to the states from a planned deployment next spring (Mar-Apr). I want to know if I wait until April, will the 2006 model be out? Or will it not hit the stores until later that summer. I know most brands switch model years in the late summer, but Subaru introduced GT fairly early this year. Speculation and/or advice welcomed.

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Probably not until the fall of 2005. The 2005MY will be a long "year" for the production run. Kind of like the 2002 WRX that came out in March of 2001. My best guesstimate would be August/September 2005. There will most likely be very little changed too. HID might standard, or at least an option. And a NAV system will fit nicely into where the upper center console storage bin is. The NAV system is a for sure, I'm sure. Other than that, probably just some new colors and minor changes from the insights the 2005 owners give as feedback.

I'm sure NAV would be an option. The Legacy is no Lexus, so it won't be standard. And I was the other way around, I was wishing you could order leather seats on the non-limited for 2005. I don't really care about the moonroof. It adds weight in the absolutely WORST place...on the roof. Sure it's probably only 30-35 pounds, but that weight is multiplied during cornering forces, since it's on the top of the car. I went ahead with the Limited anyway. Even though you slide around more in leather seats during spirited driving, they are nice and that alone adds "value" to a car during resale (hence the 2% better residual value on a lease of the limited compared to the standard GT) and since the Legacy GT is a "near luxury" car and competing, or at least wanting to compete with the BMW 325i and Audi A4 1.8T, I think leather is a must to claim that.