LegacyGT.com

Blown 05 legacy engine. Help on ideas to fix it.

Hi I'm a noob and I was wondering what would be better for me money wise and availability. I currently have a 2005 legacy gt automatic with a blown motor. I was wondering what to do whether to just try to find another legacy gt motor or swap in a sti. Also would it be possible to switch from an automatic to manual with a sti engine. Thanks.

You should run a search.... but being that you are new here, I'll suggest you find a used engine from a junkyard and drop it in. Then, rebuild your old one over time. You could also dissasemble your current one and find out what is wrong with it. Used short blocks can be had for around $600. Swap the heads over... Do not use STI engine.

Auto to Manual swap is not easy. Search this topic as well.

Shaun

New OEM ej257 is $1800.

google, "got some new stuff for engine R&R" you'll get my thread.

That will give you the idea of what you need to do.

305,600miles 5/2012 ej257 short block, 8/2011 installed VF52 turbo, @20.8psi, 280whp, 300ftlbs. (SOLD).  CHECK your oil, these cars use it.

Engine Build - Click Here

You should run a search.... but being that you are new here, I'll suggest you find a used engine from a junkyard and drop it in. Then, rebuild your old one over time. You could also dissasemble your current one and find out what is wrong with it. Used short blocks can be had for around $600. Swap the heads over... Do not use STI engine.

Auto to Manual swap is not easy. Search this topic as well.

Shaun

and why should he not use the STI engine!? I would suggest buying a new short block if you can afford the down time. Get your heads rebuilt and put on the short block and call it a day. If you need a quick turnaround find a used motor from a reputable place and swap that in and start saving for either a rebuild on the blown or for a new shortblock.