LegacyGT.com

brand new clutch slipping! not fully disengaging .. wrong slave cyl? bad master cyl?

Hey guys! I'm a subie newbie. Bought my friends 2005 LGT a few weeks ago. Ive been into cars for a long time and do 90% of my own wrenching.

The Legacy has a turbo back exhaust, K&N panel filter, catless up-pipe and Cobb AccessPort set on stage2. I bought the car knowing it needed a clutch. After driving it for the first time I noticed a firm pedal that needed to be pushed all the way to the floor to shift gears. And it slipped under WOT in 4th or 5th gears.

So I decided to buy a stock replacment 2009 WRX clutch and flywheel kit on Rockauto. The kit is made by AMS and cost a whopping $191.79. It came with everything I needed .. so I though. Turns out the clutch forks are a bit different which meant I could not use the WRX throw out bearing that came in the kit. I went to Subaru and bought an OEM LGT TOB and installed it.

I also bought a Centric Premium clutch slave cylinder for a LGT. Installed and bled the clutch very well. Pedal immediately felt A LOT softer then with old/worn stock LGT clutch. I thought that was weird b/c I read that WRX clutches have a higher holding capacity and should feel heavier. Anyway after driving around being very easy on her I noticed that the clutch seemed to disengage at the very top of pedal travel. I can press the clutch in roughly 1/2 way and shift gears smoothly.

After driving out of boost for over 200 miles I decided to give it a 2nd gear wack. Clutch started to slip right away! :mad:

This is what I think might be wrong..

1. Clutch master cylinder is bad ..

2. Need to use a 2009 WRX clutch slave cylinder to go with shorter WRX single mass flywheel/clutch assembly .. stock LGT flywheel is a taller dual mass unit

What do you guys think? :confused: Any input will be greatly appreciated.

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Moderators