LegacyGT.com

How To: Search the Forum!

• Moderators

This is not a rant against newbs (hell, I'm still a newb--although I'd like to think that I've learned my way around this forum a bit and even have some helpful info from time to time). I just want to make public my method for searching this forum. This is not my own, but something that was suggested on the forum but is not widely advertised.

Do NOT use the search that is found on the forum. It is useless--especially if you have search terms that contain small words (3 or 4 characters).

Instead, go to google or whatever search engine you like. If, for example, you are search for how to remove your banjo bolt, type the following in the search box:

banjo bolt site:legacygt.com

the key is adding the "site:legacygt.com" to limit the search results to only those found on the forum. I was not aware of this search engine feature until a little while ago and it helps IMMENSELY! I use it all the time now, not just for searching this forum.

You'll see marked improvements on your ability to track down information that already exists here rather than posting the same question for the umpteenth time and getting flamed for it.

Hope this helps some folks out, happy new year!

"Bullet-proof" your OEM TMIC! <<Buy your kit here>>

Not currently in stock :(

Even with one word, "Search" doesn't narrow it down, you will get 50 threads that don't have the word I typed in the titles. I would have to open each thread to see if it's something I'm looking for, as far as for me it does this.

search   [surch] Show IPA

verb (used with object)

to go or look through (a place, area, etc.) carefully in order to find something missing or lost: They searched the woods for the missing child. I searched the desk for the letter.

to look at or examine (a person, object, etc.) carefully in order to find something concealed: He searched the vase for signs of a crack. The police searched the suspect for weapons.