LegacyGT.com

Legacy Wagon - Which one and why?

pnwgeek

Hi, I'm new(ish) here and I've been thinking of switching marques and heading into Subaruland. However, all I've owned is Volvos for like the past 20 years, so I'm REALLY out of touch with other makes. I'm pretty sure I'd like to pick up a Subaru Legacy Wagon of some kind, but which?

I'm not really all that fond of the Outback styling, although a base model with an Outback front would be fine. GT would be preferable, in particular with a manual. However, I guess what I'm really wanting to know is if there are any major things to look out for (besides the headgaskets, I've seen that enough just doing minor research lol) with regards to these cars. Mainly 2nd - 4th gen, or 94-99, 98-03 and 03-09. I think I'd prefer either a 2nd gen or 4th gen though, the 3rd has a few styling issues in my eyes and the new new stuff just does NOT do it for me. Oh yeah, and manual if at all possible.

To be clear, I'm a fairly competent mechanic with my own tools and can do swaps of any kind. Not afraid of getting my hands dirty, so if someone suggested a cheap 2nd gen base model with a newerish STi drivetrain...I could definitely make that happen.

Thanks for any suggestions.

Bueller? Bueller?

I'm rethinking the 3rd gen, but all I'm really wanting to know is if there is anything major besides the 2.5 headgaskets to look out for. The research I've done suggests that there isn't much but minor niggles, so that's a plus.

My main reason for looking into subarus is due to the fact that they've done AWD since the beginning of time. Volvo AWD is...finicky at best, and I'm not interested in FWD biased AWD. To be fair I'm not entirely sure what the subie bias may be, but since the engine is longitudinal instead of transverse I'm going with the assumption that it's better than the Volvo setup. :)