LegacyGT.com

Unknown Electrical Connector near turbo

Hi,

Read the last paragraph if you don't want background.

I'm new to the LGT forum -- but not new to Subarus. I've had an 07 STI I've been upgrading and early last I decided it was time to no longer daily drive it. I picked up a used 2005 Legacy GT Limited. Its got 99k miles on it now and since I purchased it, I have noticed it consumes more oil than I would prefer. I also noticed I had a vacuum line disconnected so I set about fixing these problems earlier today. I've also got some planned upgrades on the way.

The car is not exactly stock. It has the stock air box with an upgraded turbo inlet pipe, a catless downpipe, and an 18G turbo. The turbo was replaced when the stock turbo blew up due to clogged filter in the oil line(previous to me owning it). It now does have upgraded oil lines for the turbo with the correct filter.

The vacuum line was pretty simple, I found that purge valve had one open end and it was the end that goes to the vapor canister (I think). It went to a metal line that came up on driver side head between the two fuel lines and ran towards the back of the car.

Since I noticed the car was burning more oil than I would like (1 qt every ~2000 miles) I decided to start looking for problems. After some looking around I took off the intercooler and found oil in the intake system. It looks as if hte PCV could be the culprit as there was more oil in the intake manifold than the in the intercooler and very little in the turbo housing. You can see some oil on the turbo housing in the picture below as well as the upgraded oil line.

I'm also planning on adding a EBCS, exhaust, and intake. (Yes I have my cars tuned by a professional after installation)

As I was replacing the PCV valve I discovered an electrical connection that is taped up with electrical tape and I can't find anything it should be connected to. See picture below for location. What is connector for? Where should it go?