LegacyGT.com

Reliability and maintenance questions

Hey everyone I'm fairly new to Subarus still and am wondering what concerns I should have with reliability and what maintenance is more important than usual with other cars that are turbo.

I've heard that I really need to keep an eye on the oil level because the EJ255 tends to burn excessive amounts of it.

I also heard something about a banjo bolt and heat shield..

I've also noticed that at cruising speeds on the freeway between 2500-3500 the car kind of bucks back and forth; is that normal? It almost feels like its choking for air or the fuel tuning isn't smooth. Would getting a freer flowing exhaust or tune help?

And another odd thing I've noticed is that my 2005 legacy GT wagon's clutch pedal is super stiff and the shifting is really sloppy and spongy. I've driven three different STi imprezas of various years, two being hatches and one sedan as well as a 2008 WRX sedan and the clutch pedal was much lighter and the shifting was much crisper! Is there anything I can do to change whatever is different between mine and them to obtain that feel? Is it the weight difference that makes the pedal have to have a heavier feel? Is it wear and tear that is causing the shifting to be spongy?

Thanks for the input everyone!

Turbos fail

Rings fail

Motors burn oil

Stock Tune is horrible - might explain your buck

Since you bought this used, I'm hoping you got an inspection done and checked leak down.

I cannot speak for the Subi tranny experience specifically, but what you're describing is my experience with all the bad shifting in their cars - though all the clutches have been silly light. If yours is really stiff, chances are you have after market and the car was putting out more power before you bought it.

• I Donated Too