LegacyGT.com

TORQUE Wrench questions...

Are they all created the same...

I want to get my own. I think if I am changing and rotating tires it would be advisable to have.

Which one should I get and why? Any luck with any of these or should I just spend the extra and get Craftsman because it's the ALL AMERICAN tool for everything and spend....$126.00?

Here are some listed on AMAZON I found...I'm not a mechanic so...any

technical advice would be welcome... They range in price from $23- $65

1)Neiko 3/8-Inch 10-80 Foot-Pounds Automatic Torque Wrench

2)Pittsburgh Professional 1/2" Drive Click Stop Torque Wrench 20-150lbs

3)Gorilla Automotive TW605 Torque Wrench

4)TEKTON 2445 1/2-Inch Drive Click Torque Wrench, 25-250 Ft./Lb.

5)Mountain 16250 1/2-inch Drive Torque Wrench - 25-250 ft/lbs

Your advice is appreciated as I start to build my own "garage."

Look for something either electronic or clicky in the 10-150 ft/lb range. Some of the suspension stuff (top hats to strut towers) needs the low torque figures and any bolt that needs more than 150 ft/lb can be cranked on with a breaker bar after the wrench tops out.

Honestly, you'll find that the wrench spends most of its time set to the lug nut torque spec.

Go to Sears.

I have 3 craftsman torque wrenches. Good value. I'm not a big fan of the cheaper ebay stuff out there.

Not that I torque everything. I want to know I can trust what I do torque.

I'm responsible for a big list of Snap-On trque wrenches here at work. I have brought my Sears ones in from time to time to be calibrated. They seem to hold there cal well for what they are.

305,600miles 5/2012 ej257 short block, 8/2011 installed VF52 turbo, @20.8psi, 280whp, 300ftlbs. (SOLD).  CHECK your oil, these cars use it.

Engine Build - Click Here

Good advice so far.

I have a Craftsman clicker style. I'd recommend them, but I just looked at the Sears website and the reviews are pretty mixed on the current model.