LegacyGT.com

Found a Bug in the Cruise Control Software

It's nothing terrible, but being a developer, I found it interesting.

If you are going down a hill and you hold the Coast, and your car speeds up because of the incline, and you release the Coast, then the cruise will be set at the higher MPH. :lol:

It's just a flaw in the software IMHO. Neither my old 2000 2.5RS, nor my wife's 2004 Leggy act this way.

if you TAP the cruise control down... you will set the speed to 1 mph lower for every tap.

if you HOLD the control down... all you are telling the computer to do is NOT accelerate. When you release... you are setting the new speed.

Because you went downhill.. your speed is higher.. and you are setting the now higher speed.

if you left it alone.. you would have the car not not accelerate at all, and return to the set speed.

if you kept tapping the control down to the speed you wanted.. you would slow the car down.

I ride the cruise control by tap... +1 - 1 all the time. If i need to slow down greatly to a new speed... i turn the system OFF... then turn it back on by tapping the control down.

It seems to respond much more quickly in traffic that is going 70, then 55, then 65...

Yeah even on my Hyundia if the CC is set and I push the coast button it will slowly drop speed until I release the coast button. At that point the new speed is set. So it would make sense if going down a hill the car will pick up speed due to gravity and all else will work the same. Dont see a flaw with that setup though.

With an automatic I could see the car downshifting to attain a lower speed. But for a manual, you would have to tap into the ABS somehow and have the brakes slow down the car. Then you would have to worry about someone holding down the coast for too long and loosing the brakes. Much too much effort, and dictates two different systems altogether.