LegacyGT.com

Electrical Loss When Brakes Are Used

Electrical is always fun.... Good luck!
always.

and i'm no expert.

on the contrary, i know some basics of home wiring,

but very little about 12 volt automotive systems.

one thing i have heard / learned,

in lots od car circuits,

the negative wire is the one that is switched.

this makes for some complicated circuit issues.

and truthfully, ones i do not know much about.

but what ever the problem,

it is after the brake pedal switch.

the double filament bulbs on the rear can cause really weird thing to happen when they mess up.

pull the right bulb,

if the problem goes away ,

that is a big clue.

K so I tested ground continuity on all the brake system wiring and there does not seem to be any shorts. (Solenoid for shift lock was unplugged slightly)

When I turn on certain high power items the power levels dim...rear defrost; bringing up windows. When I hit the brakes and then turn the rear defrost on you can here the further dim in the blower and see the dash dim out

New alt/bat i should think

It does sound like a bad charging system. What you can do is install some LEDs on all tail lights if you're on a budget. My car used to dim the headlights even with a new alternator. Problem was solved installing LED on the tail lights. They are even brighter, cheap and last forever.

I suspect charging system as well...i've been searching for a higher output generator.

Agreed; the electrical load seems to overpower, especially in winter when everything is blasting...cut electrical usage with leds might work.

Another note...If I stay on the brakes for longer than 3secs i can hear everything spool back up, and it returns to full even with brakes on...like the alternator turned on a switch to delvier the missing power.

Odd issue